People and Papers Awards 2024

Congratulations to all the winners of the Institution's People and Papers Awards 2024. The awards were presented by President Tanya de Hoog at a ceremony held at BMA House in London on Friday 7 June.

The People and Papers Awards recognise outstanding contributions to structural engineering and to the Institution's work, through innovative education initiatives, papers published in *The Structural Engineer* and *Structures*, lectures, regional group activity, and much more. They cover the whole range of Institution life, from outstanding young professionals to those recognised for a lifetime of achievement and service.

Papers Awards

Murray Buxton Award

Medal: Graham Slade

'Assessment of steel bridges - cracking the code'

Diploma: Michael Brooks, Rachel Monteith, Justin Phillips, Franck Robert and Sam Youdan 'Battersea Power Station – regeneration of an icon'

Guthrie Brown Award

Medal: Alex Lynes

'Engineering pivoting shade structures for the Dubai Expo'

Derrington Construction Award

Medal: Allan Mann

'Reuse of existing buildings: a safety perspective'

Diploma: Wakalile Martin

'Case study: building less and building clever'

Husband Prize

Kerry Evans, Luke Fisher, Michael Parkes, John

Rees and Sam Wood

'Hanger replacement for the Menai Suspension Bridge, Wales'

Clancy Prize

Medal: Robert Mills

'Holbein Gardens: delivering a low-carbon structure with reclaimed steel'

Oscar Faber Award

Medal: Michael Hough and Shane Linehan 'Structural engineering considerations for highrise modular buildings'

Diploma: Will Arnold

'Changing the norm: learning from sustainability successes at the IStructE'

Sir Arnold Waters Medal

Medal: Dominic Echlin and Ben McIlroy 'National galleries of Scotland'

Medal: Kerrin Burgess

'Fundamentals of seismic design'

Structures Prizes

Best Research Paper Prize

Guoqiang Fu, Ming Gu, Peng Huang, Yong Quan

'Experimental investigation of wind effects on a 282-meter-high tower with complex aerodynamic shapes based on a rigid model and multi-degree-of-freedom aeroelastic model'

Best Research into Practice Paper Prize

Ying Han, Zhichao Lai, Qiang Li, Ying Wang, Xiaoaiana Yang

'Pull-out resistance of stud groups embedded in concrete'

Education Award

Award for Excellence in Structural Engineering Education

Winner: Hongjian Du

'Transformative structural engineering education through design competitions'

Commendation: Simon Leung

'Rethink: Engineer = Unleashing creativity in design + shifting focus on sustainability'



↑Alex Lynes received a medal for the Guthrie Brown Award



↑Sam Wood, John Rees, Kerry Evans and Michael Parkes were awarded the Husband Prize



↑Kerrin Burgess was awarded a Sir Arnold Waters Medal fo his presentation to the Caribbean Regional Group

◆The People and Papers Awards 2024 were held at BMA House, London





Young Structural Engineering Professional Award

Winner: Claire Young Runner-up: Lingyu Miao Commendation: Niamh McCloskey

Kenneth Severn Award

Winner: Romilly Bobby Commendation: George Kenyon Commendation: James D'Ambrosio

Young Researchers Conference Competition

Winner: Bowen Liu Joint 2nd place: Shane Hossell Joint 2nd place: Mohammed El Ashri

People Awards

Lewis Kent Award

Robert John Paul Owen Brooker Mark Robin Pundsack Stuart Lawrence Matthews

Service Award

Wuh Jian Joseph Chi Barry Hipwell Choon Wei Tan Brian Cameron Sandra Denise Orr Daljit Singh Mathuru Vinod Odhavji

Keith Eaton International Award

David Ian Harvey

Lifetime Achievement Award

Michael Watson Fordyce Anthony John Smith

President's Award 2023

Simon Jeremy Pitchers

Honorary Fellowship Award

Oliver Broadbent



↑Sandra Orr received a Service Award for her much-valued and extensive support of the Ireland and Northern Ireland Regional Group



↑Daljit Matharu received a Service Award for his extensive support of the Thames Valley Regional Group



↑Anthony Smith received a Lifetime Achievement Award



↑Hongjian Du was the winner of the Excellence in Structural Engineering Education Award



↑Mark Pundsack received the Lewis Kent Award



↑Oliver Broadbent was awarded an Honorary Fellowship Award